News / Utah / 

S.L. County elected officials sworn into office

By | Posted - Jan. 3, 2011 at 1:41 p.m.

8 photos

This archived news story is available only for your personal, non-commercial use. Information in the story may be outdated or superseded by additional information. Reading or replaying the story in its archived form does not constitute a republication of the story.

SALT LAKE CITY -- More than four decades ago, Sim Gill's father immigrated to the United States "to give me the opportunity to pursue the American dream," said the newly elected Salt Lake district attorney.

"Thank you, dad. Who would have thought after you came here and sacrificed, that 42 years afterward that your son would be standing here as the first Indian-born district attorney in the history of the United States?" said Gill upon being sworn into office Monday morning at the Salt Lake County Council Chambers.

Gill was among 11 Salt Lake County elected officials sworn into office Monday. They included three members of the County Council, Democrat Arlyn Bradshaw and Republicans Steven DeBry, Richard Snelgrove and David Wilde.

Bradshaw, the newly elected District 1 council representative, said he was well prepared for any challenge serving on the County Council might throw at him. After all, he was reared on a potato farm in Idaho and one of his chores involved moving irrigation pipes before dawn on freezing cold school days.

Bradshaw, who has served as Salt Lake County Council chairman Joe Hatch's council adviser, said he never imagined he'd run for office when Hatch asked him to come work for him three years ago.

But the scenario changed when Hatch announced he would not seek another term on the council, which meant Bradshaw would have been out of a job.

"I though, well, my job is going away. I may as well pursue the seat myself," Bradshaw said.

Also sworn in were council members Steven DeBry, R-District 5; Richard Snelgrove, R-At Large; and incumbent David Wilde, R-District 3. Republicans now hold a 5-4 majority on the County Council.

Other Salt Lake County elected officials sworn into office Monday were County Auditor Gregory Hawkins, County Treasurer K. Wayne Cushing, Assessor Lee Gardner, Clerk Sherrie Swenson, Recorder Gary Ott, Sheriff Jim Winder and Surveyor Reid Demman.



    Catch up on the top news and features from, sent weekly.
    By subscribing, you acknowledge and agree to's Terms of Use and Privacy Policy.

    KSL Weather Forecast