Sports / 

The Fab 15

The Fab 15

Estimated read time: 2-3 minutes

This archived news story is available only for your personal, non-commercial use. Information in the story may be outdated or superseded by additional information. Reading or replaying the story in its archived form does not constitute a republication of the story.

Reporting from Omaha, NE, where tonight, the #21/25 BYU Cougars visit the Creighton Bluejays in BYU's first true road game of the season...


First things first: Cougar head coach Dave Rose hopes to have Jackson Emery on the floor for tonight's game, but he'll be a game-time decision.

Emery has been resting a sore shin since Monday's practice. As you will hear Rose tell me in tonight's Cougar Pregame Coach's Show on KSL Radio, an MRI on Emery's shin was negative for a stress fracture or stress reaction, which is good news.

BYU is already without Chris Collinsworth, who has missed two games and most of a third with an ankle sprain/bone bruise. Collinsworth's foot remains in a walking boot, and he is listed as doubtful for Saturday's game with Hawaii at Energy Solutions Arena.


While heading back to the hotel with BYU Assistant Director of Athletic Communications Brett Pyne here in Omaha, we started talking about the best BYU Basketball players of the last decade.

We attempted to come up with a starting five, but bailed out and picked three players at each spot, creating a 15-man "SuperTeam."

The selected wings (SG and SF) occasionally played both positions, so some leeway was granted in how those players were picked.

See if you agree with me; you can Tweet your thoughts to me: @gregwrubell.

To be eligible, players had to have played from the year 2000 onward.

PG: Jimmer Fredette, Matt Montague, Austin Ainge

SG: Travis Hansen, Jackson Emery, Terrell Lyday

SF: Lee Cummard, Mark Bigelow, Mike Hall

PF: Jonathan Tavernari, Keena Young, Eric Nielsen

C: Mekeli Wesley, Rafael Araujo, Trent Plaisted


First of all, that is a pretty incredible collection of talent, don't you think?

Nine of the 15 players picked are members of BYU's 1,000-point club, and 12 of the 15 were all-conference performers (Montague, Nielsen and Ainge were Honorable Mention).

The only all-conference pick not named to our All-Decade Team was Tyler Haws, who has only played one season, and was edged out by Mike Hall at the big wing position. Haws will ultimately be an all-timer at BYU and will surely make the next All-Decade team at SF or SG.


Most recent Sports stories


Catch up on the top news and features from, sent weekly.
By subscribing, you acknowledge and agree to's Terms of Use and Privacy Policy.

KSL Weather Forecast